I have Never Known It So Average

Matt Ridley on the so-called abnormal extreme weather than people in some parts of the world say they are experiencing:

The fact that people have short memories about weather events is what enables this game to be played. The long Australian drought of 2001-7, the Brisbane floods of 2009-10 and the angry summer of 2012-13 stand out in people’s minds. People are reluctant to put them down to chance. Even here in mild England, people are always saying “I have never known it so cold/hot/mild/windy/wet/dry/changeable as it is this year”. One Christmas I noticed the seasons had been pretty average all year, neither too dry nor too wet nor too cold nor too warm. “I have never known it so average,” I said to somebody. I got a baffled look. Nobody ever calls the weather normal.

From http://wattsupwiththat.com/2013/07/15/abnormal-weather-just-another-scare-tactic/ and http://www.thegwpf.org/matt-ridley-calls-weather-normal/

Comments are closed.

