Why he doesn’t *really* practice open science

C. Tutus Brown is a real scientist in the field of bioinformatics. His blog often is about the Python programming language which I use routinely to help me run management information for one of my consulting clients. (Without the Python programs I developed I wouldn’t have the time to continue with the gig!).

Brown shifts gear with this blog entry from yesterday “Why I don’t *really* practice open science“.

While I think we’re doing awesome work, I’ve been uncharacteristically (for me) shy about proselytizing it prior to having papers ready. I occasionally reference it on mailing lists, or in blog posts, or on twitter, but the most I’ve talked about the details has been in talks — and I’ve rarely posted those talks online. When I have, I don’t point out the nifty awesomeness in the talks, either, which of course means it goes mostly unnoticed. This seems to be at odds with my oft-loudly stated position that open-everything is the way to go. What’s going on?? That’s what this blog post is about. I think it sheds some interesting light on how science is actually practiced, and why completely open science might waste a lot of people’s time.

Fascinating article about the real world.

Comments are closed.

