Dropbox vs. SugarSync

I have the need to post files on internet-based sites for use on collaboration with various other people for various reasons. I’ve been using Dropbox and SugarSync; the latter because it appears now to be ubiquitous and the latter because it was recommended by a person who provides reliable recommendations. Prior to getting started I read numerous reviews.

My bottom line is that SugarSync is the preferred tool. I come to this conclusion due to two features in SugarSync which are not in Dropbox (far as I can tell):

1. With SugarSync, I can post files for others to use in READ-ONLY mode. With Dropbox all files are changeable by anyone with access to the folder. Further, I’m informed but have not confirmed this, DropBox users can “re-share” with others without my permission. That opens up the possibility that pretty much anyone can edit the files without me knowing. This is disconcerting and a big reason to be careful of using DropBox’s sharing features.

2. With SugarSync, I can share specific folders in the PC’s file system without having to move them into the DropBox file folder (or subfolders). Yes, with the Mac version of DropBox it is possible to setup a symbolic link in the DropBox folder pointing to a folder in another location, so this point No. 2 is probably moot.

On thing that Dropbox does do is provide software for using on a Linux machine. SugarSync does not. That would be useful in doing more automation.

Comments are closed.

