The Wind Blew Yesterday in UK … how much Wind Power Got Generated?

Yesterday, the remnants of a hurricane passed over parts of the UK. Bishop Hill, knowing that I have energy production data on my phone asked for how much wind power was generated yesterday during those high winds. I provided Bishop Hill a screen shot from the “GridCarbon” iPhone app which shows real-time numbers for energy generation by type.

IMG 0672

If one turns the iPhone on its side, we can see a time series over the last 24 hours, wind is:

IMG 0675

The grey area is “night-time” darkness.

My sense it’s about 10x normal for wind, but it’s just a hunch based on my recollection. At some point, I’d like to carve out some time and get back to the re-looking at updates to this and that.

Total power generation:

IMG 0676

2 Responses to The Wind Blew Yesterday in UK … how much Wind Power Got Generated?

  1. fujirobin says:

    Why do the grey areas (nighttime) apparently vary with generation and carbon intensity?

    Is the overall generation graph really the same shape as the BMReports graph?

  2. rms says:

    Looks the same to me. in any event, if different, I don’t know. Need to ask the owners of the app.

